top of page

Krav Maga Global Graderingssystem

Bli medlem

KMG Graderingssystem

KMG students can grade up with KMG. Ranks are represented in patches of their corresponding level.

Climbing from one level to the next in the Practitioner levels requires a minimum of about half a year of regular training before a student can seek to take an exam. Graduate levels require half a year to one year of regular training between levels, and Expert levels require one to five years or regular training to pass from one Expert level to the next.


KMG civilian ranking is divided into 18 levels:


Practitioner 1 to 5
Graduate 1 to 5
Expert 1 to 5
Master 1 to 3

Practitioner (P) levels are where the student begins their journey as a Krav Maga practitioner. At this level, the practitioner is known as an “Operator” — a student who is learning each technique step-by-step and applying the basic principles and methodologies that they have learned. Practitioner levels cover all the fundamental strikes used in Krav Maga, defenses against common empty-hand attacks (kicks, punches, chokes, etc.) from standing and on the ground, defenses against basic knife and stick threats and attacks, basic third-party protection, and soft (non-violent) solutions. Students also learn proper decision making, and tactics for basic multiple attacker scenarios.

Graduate (G) levels are where the student enters the “Fighter” stage. They have successfully demonstrated proper technique and have the ability for better decision-making when under stress. In these levels, students are introduced to more difficult and complicated scenarios, built on the fundamental techniques in the Practitioner Levels. Students learn more advanced strikes and striking combinations, defenses against various cold weapons attacks and firearm threats, different starting positions and states of readiness, dealing with various progressions of problems, and intermediate multiple attackers situations. All KMG Instructors must be at least G-level in order to teach.

Expert (E) levels are known as the “Warrior” stage. This means Expert level practitioners can successfully move from one defense to the next without hesitation during unpredictable threats. They can also demonstrate strong skills in fighting tactics. Expert level testing is by invitation only, and has specific requirements apart from testing for each level.


Ranks and curriculum for the professional and government sectors are separate from civilian training. KMG has three (3) Fighter levels and three (3) Warrior levels that are awarded upon successful completion of our sector-specific courses. These programs are specific to law enforcement, military, security, SWAT, Special Anti-terror, and VIP protection.

Civilian Testing Requirements

In each level exam, students must make the minimum score in order to pass to the next rank. (Students who do not pass the first time can opt to re-take exams as necessary). Students should note that membership in a KMG-affiliated training club does not guarantee qualification for grading. We require all instructors to separately approve students for grading, if they comply with requirements. In the interest of fairness and ethical practice, instructors will typically not test their own students.

Because of the strict training and qualification requirements per rank, we ensure that KMG students have solid self-defense and fighting abilities as they progress. In the end, our goal is not merely to award a rank or a certificate, but to ensure that students come away with real-world skills and abilities. We expect all KMG students to be have good character and personal discipline, and to show respect to their school, instructors, fellow students, and society in general.

Our Patches and Diplomas are issued after grading, in accordance with the testing standards of KMG internationally. Patches represent the generally ranks of adult civilian training with KMG (Krav Junior rankings, patches, and diplomas are different from adults).


KMG Passports, each with a unique identification number, are also issued to students who rank with us. It is a log book in which training and grading information can be documented. It indicates which club a student belongs to, which courses and qualifications they have taken, which seminars and workshops they have attended, and what their current grade is.

Note: Patches or civilian diplomas representing rank do not represent instructorship under KMG, as qualification and testing instructorship is separate from civilian rankings. Patches or civilian diplomas also do not represent specialist Krav Maga certifications (i.e. law enforcement, military, VIP protection).

Krav på graderingen

Under varje gradering måste eleverna åtminstone få godkänt på en viss procent  av alla tekniker de uppvisar. Elever bör notera att medlemskap i en KMG-anknuten klubb inte garanterar behörighet för att gradera. Vi kräver att alla instruktörer godkänner eleverna separat för gradering, om de uppfyller kraven.


Tack vare de stränga kraven på färdigheter och kvalifikationer per nivå säkerställer vi att KMG-eleverna har gedigna självförsvars-och kampförmågor när de fortsätter träna. I slutändan är vårt mål inte bara att tilldela en grad eller ett certifikat, utan att se till att eleverna har fått med sig verkliga färdigheter och förmågor. Vi förväntar oss att alla KMG-elever ska ha god karaktär och personlig disciplin och visa respekt för sin klubb, instruktörerna, medstudenterna och samhället i allmänhet.


KMG-pass, alla med ett unikt identifikationsnummer, utfärdas också till elever som graderar hos oss. Det är en loggbok där olika typer av information kan dokumenteras. Den visar vilken klubb en elev tillhör, vilka kurser de har gått, vilka seminarier och workshops de har gått och vad deras nuvarande grad är.

bottom of page